About Us

 

The Music Department at Ventura College boasts a highly regarded faculty of teacher-artists, scholars, and practitioners that embody the college's "students first" philosophy.  Whether you are taking a Music Appreciation course or participating in our rigorous Applied Music studies, you will learn among excellent faculty.

 


Full-Time Faculty

Brent Wilson

Department Chair of Performing Arts;
Director of Vocal Studies

bwilson1@vcccd.edu

currently
VACANT

Director of Instrumental Studies

Fall '22 estimated start

 

 


Adjunct Musicology, Technology, Composition & Conducting Faculty

Fundi Legohn Jazz Studies / Brass fundi_legohn@vcccd.edu
Cesar Mateus Jazz Studies / Guitar cmateus@vcccd.edu
Bevan Manson Jazz Studies bmanson@vcccd.edu
Barry Newton Ethnomusicology / Bass bnewton@vcccd.edu
Ollie Powers Composition / Music Technology opowers@vcccd.edu
Andrew Tholl Composition / Violin atholl@vcccd.edu
Ashley Walters Orchestra Conducting / Chamber Music / Cello awalters@vcccd.edu

 

 


Adjunct Vocal Faculty

Luvi Avendano Voice lavendano@vcccd.edu
Tara Eisenhauer Voice teisenhauer@vcccd.edu
Brian Hotchkin Voice / Stage Direction bhotchkin@vcccd.edu

 

 


Adjunct Instrumental Faculty

Ovanes Arakelyan
Carol Lockart Flute clockart@vcccd.edu
Kimaree Gilad Oboe kgilad@vcccd.edu
Nick Akdag Bassoon, Chamber Music nicholas_akdag1@vcccd.edu
Jon Titmus Horn / Brass jon_titmus@vcccd.edu
Fundi Legohn Brass / Jazz Studies fundi_legohn@vcccd.edu
Andrew Tholl Violin / Composition atholl@vcccd.edu
Ashley Walters Cello / Chamber Music / Orchestral Conducting awalters@vcccd.edu
Barry Newton Bass / Ethnomusicology bnewton@vcccd.edu
Felix Eisenhauer Keyboards feisenhauer@vcccd.edu
Ovanes Arakelyan Keyboards oarakelyan@vcccd.edu
Cesar Mateus Guitar / Jazz Studies cmateus@vcccd.edu