The Ventura College Academic Senate bestows four awards in the spring of each academic year. These are awards given by faculty and to faculty in the following four areas: Service to Students, Service to Faculty, Service to College and Service to Community. Unfortunately, the Senate records are incomplete. Here is the most up-to-date list of past awardees:









Year Service to Students Service to Faculty Service to College Service to Community
2021 Rubisela Gamboa Colleen Coffey & Kammy Algiers Kelly Peinado Dan Walsh
2020 Brent Wilson Gema Sanchez & Maria Flores Eric Martinsen Gigi Fiumerodo
2016 Corinna McKoy Stacy Sloan-Graham Roxanne Forde Larry Barratte
2015 Philip Clinton Sharon Beynon Tania DeClerck Mayo De La Rocha
2014 Raeann Koerner Andrea Horigan Alex Kolesnik

Kim Karkos &

Robert Porter (Tie)

2013 Joy Kobayashi  Debbie Newcomb SharoBeynon

Judy Garey &

Sandy Melton (Tie)

2012 Ted Prell  Cari Lange 

Casey Mansfield & 

Mark Pauley (Tie)

2011 Bob Arce

 P. Scott Corbett & 

Ty Gardner (Tie)

Michael Callahan Simon Waltzer
2010 Steve Turner Ollie D. Powers Jeff Ferguson  E. Burns Taft
2009 Robert Chaparro Gigi Fiumerodo Bill Budke Ned Mircetic
2008 Lucy Capuano Raeann Koerner Becky Hull Bob Lawson
2007 Farzeen Nasri Bob Porter Steve Palladino  Luke Hall
2006  Peter H. Sezzi Mayo de la Rocha Michael Hale Terry Morris

In the years listed below, the faculty whose names appear were given awards but it is unknown in which categories the awards were bestowed. The names are therefore presented in alphabetical order:

2005:         David Breslin, Harry Korn, Lauri Moore, Carol Weinstock                   

2004:         E. Burns Taft, Bill Thieman, Hiroko Yoshimoto

Ventura College Academic Senate President Award for Merit:

The awarding of the Ventura College Academic Senate President Award for Merit is determined solely by the Academic Senate President and may be awarded to any individual regardless of position/classification/site location within the District. With the approval of the VC Academic Senate Standard Operating Procedures in 2013, this award was established.

2021: Sharon Oxford, Ali Olson-Pacheco, and Matthew Moore

2020: Sharon Oxford, Ali Olson-Pacheco, and Matthew Moore

2016: Colleen Coffey

2013:    Paula Munoz