History

HistoryProgram Purpose: The History program is designed to assist students graduating with a degree in history to demonstrate an understanding of the effects of time and place on shaping and molding the human experience. Whereby students, will be able to appraise the significance of specific people, places and events in understanding the larger trends and themes of history. Additionally, students will be able to assess and evaluate the causes and effects of trends and historical developments over time.

Program Description: Through the critical evaluation of the causes and significance of events in the past, students of history learn about the individuals, ideas, actions, and events that have shaped our present. History teaches students to find and interpret relevant information and to evaluate the authority and bias of information. It promotes an understanding of cultures and societies from the past while it helps students consider their own identities in the world of today. A student graduating with an Associate of Arts degree in History will usually transfers to a four-year institution to complete a Bachelor's Degree. History is an excellent preparation for careers in teaching, law, business, communications, journalism, librarianship, archival and research work, public administration and a wide variety of public service and government careers. Professional schools in these and related fields are looking for students who can weigh conflicting evidence, evaluate alternative courses of action or divergent points of view, and express conclusions logically and clearly. For students that are not majoring in History, this subject area meets important transfer requirements and promotes a basic understanding of the world.

 

Area Dean: Felicia Duenas
Email: fduenas@vcccd.edu
Office: MCW-315

Department Chair: Dr. Michael Ward
Social & Behavioral Sciences, & Modern Languages
Phone: (805) 289-6226
Email: mward@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-341

 

Degrees, Certificates, & Proficiency Awards


Apply Now


Gainful Employment DisclosureStudent Learning Outcomes by Course

History teaches students to find and interpret relevant information and to evaluate the authority and bias of information. It promotes an understanding of cultures and societies from the past while it helps students consider their own identities in the world of today. Through the critical evaluation of the causes and significance of events in the past, students of history learn about the individuals, ideas, actions and events that have shaped the present. History serves as a core transfer requirement and is a valuable component in a general education.


Full-Time Instructors:

Colleen Coffey
Professor of History
Phone: (805) 289-6164
Email: ccoffey@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-303

Dr. P. Scott Corbett
Professor of History
Phone: (805) 289-6214
Email: scorbett@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-330

Rubisela Gamboa
Associate Professor of History & Chicano Studies
Phone: (805) 289-6087
Email: rgamboa@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-345

Dr. Michael Ward
Professor of History, & Department Chair of Social &
Behavioral Sciences, & Modern languages

Phone: (805) 289-6226
Email: mward@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-341


Part-Time Instructors*:

Kathleen Addison | kaddison@vcccd.edu

Walt Agajanian | wagajanian@vcccd.edu

Liza Black | liza_black1@vcccd.edu

Laura Carlone-Mooslin | lcarlonemooslin@vcccd.edu

Michael Felix | mfelix@vcccd.edu

Marie Francois | mfrancois@vcccd.edu

Travis King | travis_king2@vcccd.edu

Nathan Lopez | nlopez@vcccd.edu

Jeanne Miller | jmiller@vcccd.edu

John Pendleton | john_pendleton@vcccd.edu

Tomas Sanchez | tsanchez@vcccd.edu

Ray Tracy | rtracy@vcccd.edu

Ola Washington | owashington@vcccd.edu

*Part Time Instructors can be left a Voice Mail Message by calling (805) 652-7779, and entering the instructor's last name when prompted.