Psychology

PsychologyProgram Purpose: The Psychology program is designed to prepare students with a theoretical and applied comprehension of the major concepts, theoretical perspectives, and empirical findings, historical and contemporary trends in psychology. The program expands student’s comprehension of scientifically based research methods in psychology using statistical analyses appropriate for specific research problems. Additionally, the studies demonstrate the application of social interaction and life skills, including basic proficiency in information technology.

Program Description: Psychology is the study of behavior, mental processes, and our relationship to others within our society. Psychology is a science used to understand the diverse cultural, economic, ethnic, social, and historical viewpoints that exist in a multicultural world. This discipline seeks to understand how these viewpoints interact with individual and group behavior. An awareness of these viewpoints help students to understand themselves, the behavior of people in their environment, and how to actively participate within a society. A student graduating with an Associate of Arts in Psychology may transfer to a four year institution to complete a Bachelor’s Degree. Psychology is excellent preparation for a wide range of career paths in business, mental health, teaching, law enforcement, social services, and community relations.

Psychology Images

 

Area Dean: Felicia Duenas
Email: fduenas@vcccd.edu
Office: MCW-315

​Department Chair: Andrea Horigan
Behavioral Sciences, & Modern Languages
Phone: 805-289-6196
Email: ahorigan@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-339

Administrative Assistant: Sandy Mason
Phone: 805-289-6388
Email: smason@vcccd.edu
Location: LRC-356

Office Assistant: Brenda Marin
Phone: 805-289-6536
Email: bmarin@vcccd.edu
Location: LRC-356

Degrees, Certificates, & Proficiency Awards


Apply Now


Gainful Employment Disclosure Student Learning Outcomes by Course

Psychology is the study of behavior, mental processes, and our relationship to others within our society. The science of psychology is used to understand the diverse cultural, economic, ethnic, social, and historical viewpoints that exist in a multicultural world. An awareness of these viewpoints helps students to understand themselves and the behavior of people in their environment, and provides guidance in how to actively participate within a society. The Psychology program offers courses to help students in academic and vocational programs meet requirements for associate degrees and to prepare them for transfer to four-year universities.


Full-Time Instructors:

Lucy Capuano
Professor of Psychology*
Phone: 805-289-6213
Email: lcapuano@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-329
*Will be on sabbatical for the 2019 Spring Semester

​Dr. Niki Milani
Associate Professor of Psychology
Phone: 805-289-6513
Email: nmilani@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-348

Mark Pauley
Professor of Psychology
Phone: 805-289-6227
Email: mpauley@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-349

Robert Pugh
Full-Time Instructor of Psychology (Spring 2019 Only)
Phone: 805-652-7779 Ext, 50946
Email: rpugh@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-319

Dr. Edelwina "Winnie" Rivere
Professor of Psychology
Phone: 805-289-6480
Email: wrivere@vcccd.edu
Office: MCE-346

Part-Time Instructors*:

Jeff Appell | jappell@vcccd.edu

Raqota Berger | rberger@vcccd.edu

Nouha Hallak | nhallak@vcccd.edu

Farshid Moshrefi | fmoshrefi@vcccd.edu

Bruce Reinauer | breinauer@vcccd.edu

Oliver Williams | owilliams@vcccd.edu

*Part Time Instructors can be left a Voice Mail Message by calling 805-652-7779, and entering the instructor's last name when prompted.