Sign Language
Program Purpose: The American Sign Language courses prepare students with communication skills in a second language and provide an understanding of the cultural aspects of the deaf community.

 

Program Description: All of the American Sign Language courses at Ventura College provide instruction in receptive and expressive sign vocabulary, appropriate grammatical and affective facial expressions, syntax, and body modifiers.

The Modern Languages Department offers a multiple-semester sequence of courses in American Sign Language.

Area Dean: Lisa Putnam
Email: lputnam@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-354 

Department Chair: Ronald Mules
Behavioral Sciences, & Modern Languages
Phone: 805-289-6453
Email: rmules@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-344

Administrative Assistant: Sandy Mason
Phone: 805-289-6388
Email: smason@vcccd.edu
Location:LRC-356

Office Assistant: Brenda Marin
Phone: 805-289-6536
Email: bmarin@vcccd.edu
Location: LRC-356

Apply for Admission at Ventura College

 


 


Part-Time Instructors*:

Francine Buker | fbuker@vcccd.edu

Joel Garcia | joel_garcia3@vcccd.edu

Adriana Nino | adriana_nino1@vcccd.edu

Dave Sladek | dsladek@vcccd.edu

Apply Now