Spanish

SpanishThe Modern Languages Department offers a multiple-semester sequence of courses in the basic language skills of listening, speaking, reading and writing in the Spanish language. Courses are also available in the fields of Hispanic literature in translation, Hispanic culture and history in film, conversational Spanish, and Spanish for individuals working in the fields of medicine, education, and law enforcement.

Area Dean: Felicia Duenas
Email: fduenas@vcccd.edu
Location: MCW-315

Department Chair: Dr. Michael Ward
Social & Behavioral Sciences, & Modern Languages
Phone: (805) 289-6226
Email: mward@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-341

Modern Language Assessment


Apply Now


Student Learning Outcomes by Course

Which Spanish course should you take? 

  • Span V01: Elementary Spanish I (face-to-face or partially online)
    • For students who have not taken a Spanish course before AND who have not been exposed to Spanish at home. No pre-requisite needed.
  • Span V02: Elementary Spanish II (face-to-face or partially online)
    • For students who have taken Span V01 or two years of high school Spanish AND who have not been exposed to Spanish at home.
  • Span V03: Intermediate Spanish I (face-to-face only)
    • For students who have taken Span V02 or three years of high school Spanish AND who have not been exposed to Spanish at home.
  • Span V04: Intermediate Spanish II (face-to-face only)
    • For students who have taken Span V03 AND who have not been exposed to Spanish at home.
  • Span V03S: Spanish for Heritage Speakers I (partially online only)
    • For students who have been exposed to Spanish at home.

For more information on which class is right for you, take our Online Language Assessment


Full-Time Instructors:

Tania De Clerck
Professor of Spanish
Phone: (805) 289-6205
Email: tdeclerck@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-318

Ben Somoza
Professor of Spanish
Phone: (805) 289-6212
Email: bsomoza@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-325

Araceli Trujillo
Associate Professor of Spanish
Phone: (805) 289-6459
Email: atrujillo@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-120

Part-Time Instructors*:

Manuela Coronel-Glass | mcoronel@vcccd.edu

Lorena Gauthier | lorena_gauthier1@vcccd.edu

Alejandro Hernandez Jr. | alejandro_hernandez4@vcccd.edu

Mariano Lopez | mlopez@vcccd.edu

Frank Sovich | fsovich@vcccd.edu

*Part Time Instructors can be left a Voice Mail Message by calling (805) 652-7779, and entering the instructor's last name when prompted.