Sign Language

Sign LanguageProgram Purpose: The American Sign Language courses prepare students with communication skills in a second language and provide an understanding of the cultural aspects of the deaf community.

Program Description: All of the American Sign Language courses at Ventura College provide instruction in receptive and expressive sign vocabulary, appropriate grammatical and affective facial expressions, syntax, and body modifiers.

The Modern Languages Department offers a multiple-semester sequence of courses in American Sign Language.

Area Dean: Felicia Duenas
Email: fduenas@vcccd.edu
Location: MCW-315

​Department Chair: Dr. Michael Ward
Social & Behavioral Sciences, & Modern Languages
Phone: (805) 289-6226
Email: mward@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-341

Apply Now


Student Learning Outcomes by Course


Part-Time Instructors*:

Christine Brown | cbrown@vcccd.edu

Francine Buker | fbuker@vcccd.edu

Joel Garcia | joel_garcia3@vcccd.edu

Adriana Nino | adriana_nino1@vcccd.edu

Dave Sladek | dsladek@vcccd.edu

*Part Time Instructors can be left a Voice Mail Message by calling (805) 652-7779, and entering the instructor's last name when prompted.