Spanish

logoThe Modern Languages Department offers a multiple-semester sequence of courses in the basic language skills of listening, speaking, reading and writing in the Spanish language. Courses are also available in the fields of Hispanic literature in translation, Hispanic culture and history in film, conversational Spanish, and Spanish for individuals working in the fields of medicine, education, and law enforcement.

Area Dean: Ronald Mules (Interim)
Visual Arts, Social & Behavioral Sciences, Modern Languages, & Distance Ed.
Phone: (805) 289-6388
Email: rmules@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-360

Department Chair: Dr. Michael Ward
Social & Behavioral Sciences, & Modern Languages
Phone: (805) 289-6226
Email: mward@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-341

Program Links:

Full-Time Instructors:

Tania De Clerk
Professor of Spanish
Phone: (805) 289-6205
Email: tdeclerk@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-318

Ben Somoza
Professor of Spanish
Phone: (805) 289-6212
Email: bsomoza@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-325

Araceli Trujillo
Associate Professor of Spanish
Phone: (805) 289-6459
Email: atrujillo@vcccd.edu
Office: LRC-120

Part-Time Instructors*:

Lorena Gauthier | lorena_gauthier1@vcccd.edu

Alejandro Hernandez Jr. | alejandro_hernandez4@vcccd.edu

Mariano Lopez | mlopez@vcccd.edu

Frank Sovich | fsovich@vcccd.edu

*Part Time Instructors can be left a Voice Mail Message by calling (805) 652-7779, and entering the instructor's last name when prompted.